I am kind of tired of having to say that it has been a long time since the last time I wrote. I have not been able to push myself enough to write daily and I will try to do it again. It has been an amazing journey with lots of stories, but I have not been able to write them down here in my blog for you to read. Now I have just too many stories that I am confused of choosing which one should go first. But let me share with you this one: my best imperfect couple of all time – my parents.

When I was younger, I used to think that my parents were the worst parents. They are not as educated as other parents, and they are not as wealthy as my friends’ parents. I did not like it when they always asked me to to the extra work to earn things in life. I used to question them and also myself, “Why aren’t you able to afford me those things I want like other parents are?” They always say that to earn things in life, you have to work hard. For an immature little girl, I hated that. I hated that I had to work harder than everybody else. They never spoil me, they always challenge me to find solutions when faced with problems. They let me struggle and make decisions, they let me suffer and experience the bitterness of failures. It took me years to finally be able to see the fruit of their teaching of hard work. They planted in me the seed of hard work and strength. All the hard stuff they let me through and swallow are the preparation of the real life. What they were trying to say is that life is not easy and never going to be. I am thankful now, all the lessons that I have been taught have made me strong today.

My parents never went to college. They only graduated from high school and they are definitely not as educated as many other parents are. I used to be so embarrassed when it comes to talking about my parents. I did not want to tell others that my parents never went to college and received higher education. But they are my great teachers. They never received any higher education, but they always tried their best to make sure I get all the best education I could get. They have always had high expectations on me, especially I am the firstborn in the family. I remember my daddy said to me when I was little: “If those wealthy kids are successful, it is normal. Because they have all the things they need to get it. Their parents are able to send them to the best schools and get the best education they could have. They have all the resources to succeed. But if you start from nothing and you become successful with all the limited resources that you have, that is something. You have to keep dreaming and reach your dreams.” That’s what keeps me going. They planted in me the seed of persistence and perseverance. All their sacrifice to make sure I received the best education has kept me moving to achieve nothing but the best.

My parents always believe in me. They believe in my potentials and they have faith that I can be successful in life. And another amazing thing about my parents is that their idea of success is unlike the mainstream. As many parents value success as making lots of money, they value it as something beyond typical. “Money is temporary and it will be used up anyway. Yes, you need money, but that should not be your main goal.” Daddy said. They have set an example of extending the goodness to others and focusing on something more eternal – touching people’s lives. They always encourage me to take the opportunity to share life with others because by sharing life with others, we can be even wealthier than the wealthiest person in the world. The small things that we shared with them will live in them as long as they live. That’s the riches that money cannot ever buy. They planted in me the seed of eternal values. Without realizing it, they have taught me to follow what the Lord said in Matthew 6:19, 19 “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. 21 Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.”

Above all, they love and accept me for who I am. I do not need to be someone else in front of them. They know my weaknesses and love me anyway. I am blessed to have them as my parents — my best imperfect couple of all time. Through them I learned all the most important things in life, although I had to learn it the hard way. Thank you mommy and daddy for all the love and lessons you have taught me. I am who I am right now is because you have invested a lot in me. In your imperfections, you two are my best. Ever. 🙂

facebook_1486749321160

I am thankful for my parents. How about you? I’d like to hear your stories, too! 🙂

Love,

–superriska

