Tags

, , , ,

goodbye

Where’s the good in goodbye? People ask. Etymologically, goodbye is a short version of God be with yeAccording to this source, goodbye is a salutation in parting and it’s actually a contraction of God be with ye. And according to this source, goodbye was used as a whole sentence 500 years ago and was found to be firstly used in a shortened version in 1573 in a letter written by Gabriel Harvey. It’s also another interesting fact that adios, a Spanish word which literally has the same meaning with goodbye, is also a contraction of vaya con dios which also means the same thing: go with God (source).

Interesting how we actually use this word as a salutation in parting. This is a prayer, that even though we’re parting, we’re actually wishing each other God’s company.

There are some friends moving away this academic year and surely they’re not gonna be teaching here next academic year. It’s kinda sad, they’re like close to my heart. They’re like the ones I dear. But now they’re actually moving away, and goodbye is undeniable. Goodbye is real and it’s all around. I just can resist the fact that things are gonna be different without them because really, nobody is just like them. They bring different colors to my life, and I’m gonna miss them.

These people have been such a blessing for me and as they go I believe it’s time for them to be a blessing for many more people out there as they have been for me.

So, where’s the good in goodbye?

We’re parting, but we’re wishing each other God’s company.

Have a great day, people! 🙂

