Tags

May 27, 2015. This might be a historical day for some of you who are reading this blog post right now. Yup, because you are actually going to open your placement envelope this very morning.

You know what, I have been in your shoes. I have been there two years ago. And here is a simple message I’m gonna share to you in this unforgettable day. You’re gonna get that envelope and you’re gonna find out of where you are going to be placed for the next three or five years. You’re nervous, you’re curious, you’re questioning, but don’t forget to breathe.

Okay, let me start with my message. I’m actually writing this not because of I’m good, or whatever, I’m writing this because I simply have been there and I have gone through the journey for almost two years and I want to share to you what I learned along the way.

Kevin Kruse once said,

“Life isn’t about getting and having, it’s about giving and being”

Isn’t the saying so profound? Indeed it is. But it is always easier said than done, you know. The truth is, even in our ministry, we often think of “what good can I get?” “what benefit can I gain?”. We tend to put our good to be the focal point, as if we are the center of everything.

In John 12:24-25 Jesus said,

I tell  you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat is planted in the soil and dies, it remains alone. But its death will produce many new kernels -a plentiful harvest of new lives. Those who love their life in this world will lose it. Those who care nothing for their life in this world will keep it for eternity.

Our flesh desires only our own pleasure and comfort. We seek out only what pleases us, what makes us comfortable and what is beneficial for us. We tend to focus on the good for ourselves. Just be honest, these things ever crossed your mind! Well, they actually have crossed my mind. But you know what, that’s humane. We all struggle with the exact same thing and for too many times we lost the fight.

Well, soldiers don’t get tied up in the affairs of civilian life, for then they cannot please the officer who enlisted them (2 Timothy 2:4). The aim of the soldier is NOT to please himself. The aim of the soldier is to please the one who enlisted him. If you still think that the world revolves around you, then you should switch that thought off of your brain. You are NOT the center of everything, God is. Unless you are willing to die to your own self, you can never live for him. Unless a kernel of wheat dies, it remains alone.

This placement and whatever events in your life are NOT about you. It’s about him. Let him use you as he pleases. Let him bring you as he likes. God will blow your mind. God will bring you to see things differently, God will bring you to places you never imagine, but surely God will be with you along the way.

Well, hope you guys have a great day! And one more thing, don’t forget to breathe 😉

