Tags

, , , , , ,

I am brokenhearted, not because of the love of a man

I am brokenhearted, not because of a breaking up of a relationship

I am brokenhearted, not because of all of the above

I am brokenhearted looking at these faces in front of me right now

Knowing that some of them are the victims of the irresponsible vow

It broke my heart knowing that some of them never see their fathers

It broke my heart knowing that some of them never feel the touch of their mothers

It broke my heart knowing that some of them never really feel the warmth of home

Where mother and father love each other and show them what love really is

It broke my heart knowing that some of them could easily say that they parents are divorced

To know bad things they are not to know they are forced

It broke my heart knowing that some of them have to see the bad examples of drunken fathers

It broke my heart knowing that some of them have to learn from gambling mothers

It broke my heart that some of them are seen as nothing but more troubles for the life of their mothers and fathers

They are given the eyes but they have to see such things

They are given the heart but they have to feel such things

They are given the ears but they have to listen to such things

The Teacher in Ecclesiastes is right,

The more we know, the greater our sorrow

In my heart I am questioning about their tomorrow

Into what kind of people they are about to grow

Will anyone care enough to show?

The tender love and prayers that glow

Will anyone care enough to sow?

The seeds of love and compassion that will grow

Will anyone care enough to let them know?

That they are loved and, yes, they have a bright tomorrow

I am brokenhearted and therefore I am excited

Giving my every heart beat

Doing my best for these souls I am trusted

