Tags

, ,

Anybody knows the soundtrack of Aladdin, a whole new world? that is my favorite song ever! hahaha. I dont know how it got stuck to my head and I cant remember when I started singing that song. But, ever since, I have been infecting people with that song just because I really like to sing it no matter where I am, bathroom, toilet, pantry, even laundry room. All my friends in the dorm knew it. Anyway, speaking of a whole new world, today I just arrived in my “whole new world”. Leaving my home, flying to a different island with different time zone, to teach English in Sekolah Lentera Harapan Palopo, South Sulawesi.

Okay let me start with this sentence: Life is an adventure. So, this is going to be the beginning. I just made it safe and soundly in Makassar, which is not the last stop. The last stop is Palopo, a small city that is actually still 8-10 hours away from Makassar. So, my journey today does not simply stop there. I am now writing while I am waiting for the bus that will get me to Palopo. Well, just for your information, my plane landed at 4.30 pm and right now, 10 pm, I am still here in the airport. *fiuhh* so, I have been waiting for around five and half hours. Does not stop there, I have one more hour to wait, since the bus only comes twice a day, early in the morning and 11 at night. Interesting? You bet!

 Well, it is a little bit frustrating waiting in the airport doing nothing. So then I decided to get my computer and write for my blog.

Let me tell you, having a beginning of something can make you feel lots of feelings at the same time. I’m all excited to start teaching and working with the kids at my school, but it is also sad as well, knowing I’m living so far away from home. It’s just not easy I believe.

My friends and I flew from Jakarta at 12.30 pm Jakarta time, and landed here 4.30 pm Makassar time. I am now in a different time zone from my home, well, not too big difference, only one hour difference. And also, let me tell you, the people here speak in a funny and strange Indonesian accent that I am not used to. Hahaha. I have had some girls in my dorm coming from this part of country and they also spoke just like the people here, but it was not everyone, but now, it is going to be everyday and everywhere, everyone is going to speak that way. Alright, that is going to be one of the interesting things I’m going to experience here.

Okay. I think I’m gonna enjoy my time waiting in the airport by watching people, that is always interesting, you know. Looking at people’s expressions, and yeah, simply just looking around. More updates about my three-year-journey are coming soon. And by this post too, I am declaring that my three-year-journey is officially started!! 😀 *yeay*

Keep in touch, peeps! 😉

