Tags

, , ,

Image

It was a clear Sunday morning in Bogor when I was on my way to the church.. while the music was played on my earphones, I looked out from the window pane of the bus.. I saw a man selling soap bubble on the street.. I told my friend sitting next to me,

“hey, I wanna buy the soap bubble!”

and then she was like…

“what for? Are you serious?”

well, I answered it simply… “just to blow it and then have fun with it…”

that might sound like a childish thing to be wanting to buy soap bubble. But my mind flew away… just started thinking about that soap bubble.

What actually makes liquid soap “alive”? yes. Because you blow it. Exactly. You breathe into it, then the soap bubbles up… and fly away for a little while. But after that little while, the bubbles burst and they’re just gone forever. You blow another bubble, it flies again for awhile, then it bursts, and it’s just gone. Again and again. Did you see the pattern? I think those bubbles are a lot like us. People. Once God breathed in His breath of life, we are alive. We fly away in this world for a little while, but then… we’re gone. Isn’t that actually interesting? That you can actually learn an important lesson from a little, insignificant thing like bubble!

Well, I believe that all people were created for a purpose. In one way or another, each person plays a role in society that actually makes a society, a society. Then in that society, all the people work together in harmony, complementing each other and make the life is even more beautiful. As a Christian, I do believe that each person was created to be part of the body of Christ, playing each role that has been assigned by Christ himself, to fill His Kingdom. Well, this post is not intended to sound like a so-called theological paper or something, and yeah, I am not even a theological scholar, but I just do believe that kind of principle is true.

Just trying to make a relation between the two, bubbles and role, I came up with this thought… if each of us is like a bubble and has different role in community, how can we then contribute to our community? I think that we can actually start by doing what we love. Just like a bubble that is made “alive” by being breathed into, we can also make what we do “alive” by breathing into it.

Doing what I love and loving what I do, as for me is that you do something that you’re passionate in, willingly and voluntarily do just simply you love doing it. Without any forces from other people, even the intention to earn people’s impressions. Because I think, doing something that we do not like just to earn people’s impression is not more than living in a prison, is it?

How long will you actually live pretending that you love it but deep inside you just don’t?

Doing what I love is loving what I do. Because as I do it, I love it. The more I do it, the more I love it. The great feeling after doing what I love is not the satisfaction of doing it perfectly, but it is more about knowing that actually I’ve played my role. And I could even share it to people… in hopes that they can feel the spark of the spirit, the splash of the love, and the touch of the blessing. As God has firstly given me the spirit to do it, the love that I really need, and the touch of the blessing in all that I do.

Life is like bubbles. It flies away just for a little while then it’s just gone forever. Well, you only live once. YOLO! Go get a life! Have fun doing what you love and love what you do. Spark the spirit. Share the love. Bless others.

“A simple action can be great, if it’s done with great love.” –Mother Teresa

“Whatever you do, do it wholeheartedly as for God, not for men.” Colossians 3:23

